Can I Cross Borders In Australia? Find Out More About Interstate Travel Here

The state border restrictions in Australia are slowly but surely easing up, which means domestic travellers can enjoy a simpler process when travelling within the country. If you’ve been feeling restless where you are and eager for an out-of-state adventure, now may be the time! Keep in mind that each state or territory features a different set of entry rules and regulations. So before finalizing your plans, check out our handy guide for interstate travel in Australia—and then you can start packing your bags for your much-deserved getaway!


Going To Australian Capital Territory

via KKday Supplier

Travellers who have not been to a high-risk geographical area in the last 14 days can enter the Australian Capital Territory (ACT) for any reason without an exemption form or undergoing quarantine or stay-at-home requirements. However, anyone who has been to a high-risk area in the past 14 days must complete an exemption form and continue monitoring for COVID-19 symptoms for 14 days after their last visit to the area.




Going To New South Wales

via KKday Supplier

Most interstate travellers can visit New South Wales (NSW). Only unvaccinated tourists living in Victoria over the age of 16 are not allowed to travel here for a holiday or recreational purposes. Keep in mind that there are entry restrictions for tourists from areas identified as affected areas, areas of concern, and places of high concern. If so, additional steps such as completing the NSW entry declaration form, getting tested for COVID-19, and self-isolating may be required.




Going to Queensland

via KKday Supplier

Everyone entering Queensland—including interstate travellers—must complete the Queensland entry pass. However, if you’ve been to a COVID-19 hotspot or interstate exposure venue, you may be asked to quarantine in a private residence or a government-nominated accommodation.




Going to Victoria

via KKday Supplier

If Victoria is on your travel bucket list, you’re in luck. Domestic travellers are allowed to enter Victoria freely, even for tourism purposes. Even domestic travel permits are no longer required, as of Thursday, November 25.




Going to Western Australia

via Pixabay

Everyone planning to travel to Western Australia (WA) must complete a G2G Pass registration and declaration. Travellers from very low-risk jurisdictions are also required to complete a health screening upon arrival, while those from low-risk jurisdictions must also provide proof of vaccination, quarantine for 14 days in private premises or a government-approved facility, and undergo a COVID-19 test within 48 hours of arrival and on the 12th day of quarantine.

Meanwhile, travellers from medium, high, and extreme risk areas are not permitted to enter the state without prior approval through the G2G Pass. Self-quarantine and COVID-19 tests may also be required.




Going to South Australia

via KKday Supplier

Everyone going to South Australia (SA) must complete an EntryCheck SA application. While those coming from very low-risk areas have no other entry requirements other than vaccination, travellers from other areas are asked to provide a negative COVID-19 test result and other requirements. Unvaccinated travellers should apply for exemption before entering the state.




Going To Tasmania

via KKday Supplier

Starting December 15, fully vaccinated domestic travellers can enter Tasmania without being required to quarantine. However, anyone coming from a high-risk area within 14 days of their entry into Tasmania will have to provide a negative COVID-19 test along with proof of vaccination. Unvaccinated travellers must apply and get approved before visiting Tasmania.




Going To Northern Territory

via KKday Supplier

Fully vaccinated travellers are allowed to travel to the Northern Territory (NT). However, those who are coming from a COVID-19 red zone are required to get tested and undergo quarantine.




International Travel Bans

Amid concerns over the new Omicron COVID-19 variant, the federal government has announced that non-Australian citizens who have been to the nine countries where this variant has been detected will not be allowed entry into Australia. The countries include South Africa, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Lesotho, Eswatini, Seychelles, Malawi, and Mozambique.


Stay on track with the latest travel news and discover great deals at KKday.