Japan Denies Entry To Visitors From 111 Countries

As Japan strengthens its efforts in curbing the spread of the new coronavirus (COVID-19), it has imposed on Monday a temporary ban on foreign nationals coming from select countries, including Singapore, Australia, and the United States of America

Effective starting today, 27 May, the decision made by the National Security Council also applies to foreigners who have stayed in the banned countries within 14 days prior to their supposed arrival in Japan. 

For the complete list of countries, please refer below.




Bangladesh, Brunei, China, India, Indonesia, Republic of Korea, Malaysia, Maldives, Pakistan, Philippines, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, Viet Nam




Australia, New Zealand



North America

Canada, United States of America



Latin America and the Caribbean

Argentina, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Honduras, Mexico, Panama, Peru, Saint Christopher and Nevis, Uruguay




Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kyrgyz, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Vatican



Middle East

Afghanistan, Bahrain, Israel, Iran, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates




Cabo Verde, Cote d’lvoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Mauritius, Morocco, Sao Tome and Principe, South Africa


For more information, visit the official website of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan.


*Featured image via susie07100 on Pixabay